END

There are things that can never be put an end to.
The only such thing is you!
Your end is lost somewhere between my dreams and fears!
So many times I have cried, to wake my heart up! But it never hears!
My heart has been sleeping ever since you came,
I have tried to teach it so many things; it only remembers your name!
And, nothing is the same! Anymore!
All the seas of the world are the offspring of my tears,
And there are so many beautiful songs people sing,
Yours is the only one my silly heart hears!
My Turkish is encroaching over what’s remained of my English world.
A stupid and harsh battle of languages!
Spanish is the only one my heart cries for, for the others are still strong,
For it once was the best companion of my wildest dreams,
Yet, the unluckiest it was! For it never met you!
And it was the best qualified to write about you!
But your English wouldn’t listen!
Now my English poems are so poor!
Perhaps because I’ve banished you, and you were the key for my magical English door!
Now I try to charm it in the old exciting way, but the old words don’t work anymore.
I feel the same thrill, almost the same joy,
But that’s a world that never existed outside my dreams, my day- and night-dreams alike!
Yet I know, if it ever did, it would be meant for me, for no one else can see the things I am able to see.

There are things that thrill my heart,
The only such things is you!

Shqipe Palloshi
2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment